top of page

as well as Marie Curie Fellowship from the European Commission which allowed him to work with H. Schmidbaur at the Technische Universität München (Germany) as a postdoctoral fellow and later as an “Habilitand”.  Upon completion of his habilitation work in 1998, he joined Texas A&M University where he is now a University Distinguished Professor and holder of the Arthur E. Martell Chair of Chemistry.  Dr. Gabbaï is a member of the advisory board of several international journals who has served as an associate editor for Organometallics between 2011 and 2019, and for Chemical Science since April 2019. He is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society (ACS), a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), and the recipient of the 2009 North American Dalton Lectureship, the 2016 ACS F. Albert Cotton Award in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry, the 2019 Distinguished Achievement Research Award from the Texas A&M Association of Former Students, and the 2022 Boron in the Americas Award.  He has been invited to give several named lectureships, including the 2016 Boulder Scientific Innovation Lecture at Colorado State, the  2017 James A. Ibers Summer Lectures at Northwestern University, the 2017 Anton Burg Lecture at the University of Southern California, the 2018 Reilly Lectures at Notre Dame University, the Lappert Lecture, which he gave at the 2018 RSC Dalton Meeting, and the 2022 Sheldon Shore Lecture at Ohio State University.  His research interests revolve around the chemistry of p-block and late transition metal elements with applications in the domain of molecular recognition, anion sensing and transport, and catalysis.


François Gabbaï was born in 1968 in Montpellier (France).  Upon completion of his undergraduate chemistry studies at the Université de Bordeaux in 1990, he joined the graduate program at UT Austin to work with Alan H. Cowley. In 1992 and 1993, he fulfilled his French National Duties by taking part in a Franco-American cooperation under Guy Bertrand then in Toulouse.  After completing his Ph.D. degree in 1994, he was awarded an Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship 

bottom of page